Friday, August 17, 2012

Getting to London


Theo gets a new tricycle from the down-the-street neighbors. This means that now that we've been in London for a week at this very moment, we still have heard about this tricycle multiple times a day. 
Comment from Amanda: Oh so cute. And nice skirt Irma!


Before we leave... Brian has to fix the washer. And he has two very willing helpers!


On the plane, this was before we moved Theo to the nice-people-who-moved seats, so he could lie across. We know they were nice because Irma didn't sleep at all, and just stayed up all night talking to them and trying the high-altitude red wine. Brian was smarter and slept a little.

We walked around in a dazed state the first day. The red eye combined with the new city and the sleeping babies and the new strollers made for scenes such as this. Irma stopped and said: "This is going to be great" and took about an hour taking a picture of... yes... half a tree in a construction zone. Ta da! Art! [Ugggh! Seriously, horrible.]


Seriously. Everything was art.
To tell the whole story, the people were really nice in the non-"handicapped"-accessible tube-stations, and even carried up a stroller or two up some stairs for us. Also, we were lucky we could leave our luggage at Brian's office during the day.

We got them both to sleep at the same time. Which would be great, except we know, in our heart of hearts, that they think that it's still 5am.

Since they are asleepWe'll pretend to be really silly people. And here we are, acting silly. this is harder than it looks.
Comment from Amanda: ha! too funny! i love it!


It's also harder than it looks for Brian to keep his eyes open. I took about 7 of these. Finally, eyes open, but somehow I look like a midget.


We walked around the Barbican for a while, and this is kind of semi-obligatory:

This is more my style of art... When I showed this to Brian on my LCD screen, and he asked if I photoshopped it. Er.... yes, in the last 20 seconds, using the magic photoshop button on my super fancy camera.

Henry awakes...... And is even happy:

And thinks Theo should wake up and be happy too!
Comment from Amanda: This is the cutest!!


Brian's new trick! Let's jump over the baby! [What? he likes it!]

Brian's new clothes! Use Virgin Atlantic's free blanket thing to become SUPER man! (he is a super man)

The kids and Brian were getting tired of waiting for me to create the next gallery for the Tate Modern, so I said this was the "last picture, I promise!". We went on our merry way, after having spent over 4 hours wandering the tubes and streets of London, and started towards our new "FLAT" which was ready to be checked into.


 But I had to take just ONE more for my dear sister(IL) Tara, because she likes bikes and tie-dye...
And because we won't see this beauty again any time soon. We only found it because we went around in huge unrepeatable circles looking for our apartment, only to find out we didn't know how to get in. We'll let you know how much the cell-phone bill is for the 120second phone call that routed from the UK to the US to back to the UK is. As it was, we all slept for close to 15 hours, ready for the next day. Brian's first work day....
Comment from Nick: This. This is art.
Comment from Irma: Why. Why do you say so?


No comments: